Mindfulness Courses & Events

A mindfulness course is for anyone wanting to make changes in their life and reduce stress.

Exercise is good for our physical health and mindfulness training can be helpful for our mental health and general wellbeing. See research 

Those who have completed a course in mindfulness say they have:

  • A different perspective on life
  • Handle stress and worries better
  • Relax more deeply
  • Improved sleep quality
  • Greater happiness and wellbeing
  • A tool kit for life’s challenges
  • Live more ‘in the moment’

The 8-week course is based on the two clinically ‘tried and tested’ mindfulness courses ‘Mindfulness-based Stress Reduction’ * (MBSR) with elements of ‘Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapy’ * (MBCT).

There are up to 14 people in a course group.

The course has 8 x 2 hour sessions and one retreat day and includes:

  • Group discussion and teaching
  • Simple but effective ways to bring mindfulness into your life
  • Guided mindful meditations (non-religious)
  • Gentle mindful movement
  • Evidence from research on mindfulness

An important part of the course is the daily home practice, about 30 minutes.

If you are interested in learning a little more about mindfulness, attending a course or taster session, learning mindfulness one-to-one or bringing mindfulness to your organisation, please contact Claire.


Mindfulness Courses Surrey  Dates and Venue

Next free mindfulness taster session 

Tuesday 15 September 2020

7.30-8.30pm at Bramley library, Surrey GU5 0HG.

If you would like to come please contact Claire to book a place.

Mindfulness Courses in Shamley Green, Surrey, near Guildford, Godalming, Cranleigh, Woking and Farnham

8 Week Mindfulness Course (based on MBSR/MBCT*) plus retreat day

Thursdays 11.00am-1pm, starting April 2020  

Cost £240.00 (generous concessions for those on low income-please ask)

The Space, Northcote Lane, Shamley Green, GU5 0RB

  • Thursday 23 April
  • Thursday 30 April
  • Thursday 7 May
  • Thursday 14 May
  • Thursday 21 May
  • Half Term
  • Thursday 4 June
  • Thursday 11 June
  • Thursday 18 June

Retreat day  Sun 7 June 10.30-4.30pm Wonersh Memorial Hall

8 Week Mindfulness Course (based on MBSR/MBCT*) plus retreat day

Mondays 7.00-9.00pm, starting September 2020 

Cost £240.00 (generous concessions for those on low income-please ask)

The Space, Northcote Lane, Shamley Green, GU5 0RB

  • Monday 21 September
  • Monday 28 September
  • Monday 5 October
  • Monday 12 October
  • Monday 19 October
  • Half Term
  • Monday 2 November
  • Monday 9 November
  • Monday 16 November

Retreat day  Sun 8 November 10.30-4.30pm Wonersh Memorial Hall

(*MBSR is Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction, a course developed by John Kabat-Zinn, USA. MBCT is Mindfulness Based Cognitive Therapy developed by Prof Mark Williams, Zindel Segal and John Teasdale. Both courses have been researched extensively.)

I run courses every term so please contact Claire if you would like to be kept in touch.


Follow on Events 

Mindfulness Practice Group 

This is a group set up for those who have completed an 8 week course who find it helpful to meet once a month to keep their mindfulness practice alive. This group is open to those who have completed a mindfulness course with Claire or another mindfulness teacher. The group meets monthly on a Monday morning at The Space, Shamley Green, Surrey. There is guided practice, discussion, a theme for each session and time to talk over a cup of tea.

If you are interested in joining this group or joining an evening group please contact Claire

Retreat Days – cost £40 (concessions available)

Sunday 1 March 2020           10.30-4.30pm at Wonersh Memorial Hall, 10 Lawnsmead, Wonersh,  GU5 0PQ

Sun 8 November 2020           10.30-4.30pm at Wonersh Memorial Hall, 10 Lawnsmead, Wonersh,  GU5 0PQ

If you would like to come please contact Claire to book a place.